Looking Forward: Top 15 Movies in 2017

No new year can begin until I share my top 15 anticipated films of 2017! Let’s get started…

2017 looking forward

This top 15 list is not based off of anything else other than my own personal opinion. It’s just what interests me the most out of the films coming out in 2017. In the comments I would love to hear your top films!

Honorable mentions: Live By Night, A Monster Calls, The Lego Batman Movie, The Space Between UsDunkirk, Jumanji, Star Wars Ep 8, Pitch Perfect 3, Power Rangers.

#15 – Baywatch

I’ll be honest. When I first heard there was going to be a reboot for Baywatch, I had zero interest in seeing it. After seeing the trailer, though, it actually looks like Jump Street fun. Not to mention it’s also got a pretty fun cast. Here’s to hoping it actually turns out well.

#14 – Coco

coco

There hasn’t been much revealed about Disney’s Coco but the premise itself seems interesting enough. Hopefully a trailer will be revealed soon!

#13 – Logan

Logan will be Hugh Jackman’s last outing as the Wolverine, and just judging by the trailer it seems his run will end well. It also features Sir Patrick Stewart’s Professor Xavier as well as newcomer Dafne Keen as X-23.

#12 – Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets

I’m not at all familiar with the French comics Valerian but the premise is interesting enough. The film has interesting special effects and the first trailer is has some cool elements, plus that Beatles song, but let’s hope it doesn’t fall under the Jupiter Ascending category of sci-fi films.

#11 – Despicable Me 3

I really enjoyed the first Despicable Me and its sequel was almost as good. Minions, however, didn’t turn out as great but hopefully Despicable Me 3 doesn’t fall into the same place.

#10 – Spider Man: Homecoming

Another Spidey movie? Yes, but this time Spidey has returned home to the MCU and will feature a much younger version than audiences have seen. Although I find Spider-Man overrated, I am looking forward to how this film goes and its connections to the overall Marvel universe.

#9 – Kong: Skull Island

It’s another King Kong movie but its ensemble (Hiddleston, Larson, Jackson, Goodman) and trailers have peaked my interest. Not to mention that this Kong movie will be spin-offed to a Kong vs Godzilla (May 2020) movie. What?!

#8 – The Circle

Although I hadn’t heard of the book or movie before the trailer, its first look is creepy yet intriguing. Based off of David Eggers’ novel, the film features a great cast (Hanks, Watson, Gillan, Boyega) and piques my interest enough to put it in my top 10.

#7 – Thor: Ragnarok

Thor

Although all we have are set photos and concept art so far of the film, we can hope that the third film of the Thor trilogy(?) will end better than its predecessors. The concept of Thor has always been interesting to me and I’m hoping Waititi’s take will finally end up being a good Thor film.

#6 – Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales

Although I found On Stranger Tides disappointing, I’m hoping with fresh faces and returning cast members from the original trilogy that the series will be revived. PotC is one of my favorite franchises but the previous two films were disappointing…But this teaser seems to revive the familiar sense of Black Pearl and I’m hoping so. (Also, it’s been 10 years since Will Turner’s subjection to sea…smart move Disney) There’s no telling if this’ll end the Pirates franchise, or carry on with the new arrivals, but I’m excited to see the new installment of the series.

#5 – Kingsman: The Golden Circle

kingsman

Eggsy (Taron Egerton) and Merlin (Mark Strong), two British spies, travel to the United States to join forces with their American counterparts.

Kingsman: The Secret Service was a surprise hit from Fox and of course, a sequel was greenlit, seeing the return of Taron Egerton, Colin Firth, Mark Strong, Sophie Cookson, and Edward Holcroft. Joining the cast are Julianne Moore, Channing Tatum, Jeff Bridges, Halle Berry, Pedro Pascal, and Elton John. Moore will play Poppy, the primary villain of the sequel, who forces the Kingsman to head to their American counterparts, Statesmen, and join forces. What?!

#4 – Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2

Set to the backdrop of Awesome Mixtape #2, ‘Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2’ continues the team’s adventures as they unravel the mystery of Peter Quill’s true parentage.

The first Guardians movie was a big hit and is one of my favorite MCU films. Judging from the first trailer, it looks to be even more fun and kick-ass. Can we also talk about Baby Groot?! Looking forward to future trailers so we can unravel more of what the Guardians will face, and also reveal more of the new characters.

#3 – Beauty and the Beast

An adaptation of the Disney fairy-tale about a monstrous prince and a young woman who fall in love.

As soon as I heard a live-action was being made for Beauty and the Beast, I knew I wanted to see Emma Watson in the role. She’s been interested in the role for awhile now, and many fans have fan-cast her in the role. After seeing trailers and even hearing her sing “Something There,” I really can’t wait to see her, along with the rest of the cast, bring one of my favorite Disney classics to life.

#2 – Justice League

Fueled by his restored faith in humanity and inspired by Superman’s selfless act, Bruce Wayne enlists the help of his newfound ally, Diana Prince, to face an even greater enemy.

I am a pretty big DC fan, if you haven’t noticed, and I love(d) watching the animated series. I’m excited to finally seeing this ensemble, and some of these heroes, for the first time on the big screen. Although this footage released at SDCC was done while filming was still occurring, it looks promising so far and could hopefully revive the DCEU. One of the biggest gripes by critics and audiences is the lack of fun/humor in the darker comic book movie-verse of DC, and it seems JL will fix that while still maintaining the edgier tone.

#1 – Wonder Woman

An Amazon princess leaves her island home to explore the world and, in doing so, becomes one of the world’s greatest heroes.

That’s right, the first female superhero-led film of either the MCU or DCEU takes the number 1 spot. WW is my favorite superhero and to finally see her get her own film is a dream come true. The trailers look amazing (and oh man, the cinematography) and has a great cast (Gadot, Pine, Huston, Wright, Nielsen, Thewlis). It’s not only powerful and dark but beautiful and full of heart, so I can only hope this will be the film to turn DC’s ship around.

Wonder Woman

And that’s it for my top 15! Again, let me know what you look forward to most in the comments!

Leave a Reply

