Quick Review: The Conjuring 2

Bottom line: Plenty of scary and creepy elements to satisfy fans of the genre plus some much needed humor and love merged with an engaging storyline.

It’s been over a year since I saw the first The Conjuring so comparing which is better is a bit hard. I’ll have to rewatch it to give that final answer. But what I do know for sure is that the sequel scared me more (I may or may not have screamed in the theater). Creepy old man = NO, the crooked man = NO, creepy ass nun demon = big HELL NO. I’m not big on scary/horror films (I’m a slight wimp) but it’s mostly because most of them are no good. They get lost in scaring people that they forget the story. But The Conjuring has been my favorite in the genre because it can develop something outside scares and creepiness and deliver a good film. I want to praise the actors in the fim, particularly Farmiga and Wilson as well as Madison Wolfe who played Janet (the girl who is possessed).

madison-wolfe-in-the-conjuring-movie

Another thing I wanted to talk about is Wan’s work. I love his camera work in the film and I think it worked well with the story. Normally, reviews don’t talk of technicals like this but I think it’s important to look at. I think he established a great tone for the film which is probably partly why I think his 2 Conjuring films are some of the best in the genre. He really focuses on making a great film but looking at all the angles/elements best suited for his films. Again, I can’t say which Conjuring is better, but I don’t think this one disappointed at all.

Current Ratings:

Mine: 8/10

IMDb: 9/10 (users)

Metacritic: TBD(critics)

Rotten Tomatoes: TBD (critics) TBD (users)

Leave a Reply

