Looking Forward: Top 20 Movies in 2016

It’s that time of year again! This is my second year in the Looking Forward series and what it consists of is my top anticipated films of the new year. 2016 has a lot of interesting movies coming out, much more than 2015 had. So prepaped to go broke! I would like to remind everyone that this is just my opinion and I would LOVE to hear others top 20 (or top 10) of 2016!

Special Mentions: Gambit, Ghostbusters, Kung Fu Panda 3, Assassins Creed, Triple 9, London Has Fallen, Neighbors 2, The 5th Wave,  Pete’s Dragon

TOP TWENTY

#20 – Independence Day: Resurgence

I don’t really remember much of the first film, mainly because I didn’t watch the entire film. But after seeing this, and years of procrastinating, I’ll be watching the first film before seeing this. Perhaps after watching it this’ll be bumped up the list.

#19 – The Huntsman: Winter’s War

Is it a prequel? Is it a sequel? Yes and yes. It’s apparently set after the events of its first film, Snow White and the Huntsman, and Ravenna’s sister, the “Ice Queen,” revives her. We also get to see the formation of the Huntsmen (yes, more than one), which not only brings back Chris Hemsworth’s character but a new one played by Jessica Chastain. I didn’t think the first film was bad at all and I’m curious to how this will play out!

#18 – Pride & Prejudice & Zombies

Interesting genres clash in this female-led film. It comes from the same people behind Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter, so if you didn’t like that perhaps this isn’t for you. But if you did like it, check this film out! Zombies are in right now (The Walking Dead/Fear the Walking Dead, iZombie) so it’s a smart move to introduce this now before it gets worn out. Now will this be a success? I’m not sure yet.

#17 – Warcraft

I won’t lie, I was an avid Warcraft player. I’m excited to see them bring the online gaming world to life but I’m a bit nervous as well. Live-action adaptions of games typically don’t go well. The first teaser for Warcraft seems alright but I’m still on the edge, with only being a former game player keeping me wanting to see the film.

#16 – The Secret Life of Pets

Illumination Entertainment, the studio behind Despicable Me and Minions, may have another hit on its hands with Secret Life of Pets. It looks to be a perfect family-fun film and although it doesn’t reveal much of the film, it makes me want to see more!

#15 – The Legend of Tarzan

We see Tarzan return to the jungle after years living in London with Jane. It’ll be interesting to see the reversal of what Tarzan went through before (from an ape to a man). WB’s previous attempt of bringing a Disney/not-Disney story to live-action didn’t actually go as planned (Pan) but I think this film may actually perform well. It has a great cast, we’ll just have to wait and see if it all goes well.

#14 – The Conjuring 2: The Enfield Poltergeist

No trailer yet for The Conjuring sequel but I’m already excited for it. Personally, I have trouble finding a good “horror” film and found The Conjuring to actually be great. I hope the sequel will do well but we won’t know until it’s out.

#13 – The Jungle Book

I never completely cared for The Jungle Book (Disney’s 1967 animated film) but this trailer alone made this live-action adaptation a probable “must-see.” It’s a bit dark, particularly for Disney, but nonetheless it could potentially be great. This versus Tarzan, judging by trailers out now, I’d see Jungle Book first. This may change though.

#12 – Star Trek Beyond

Honestly, not a fan of the music style/choice for the first teaser of the film and it didn’t resonate with a lot of fans either. But music aside, it looks fine. It looks to be another fun Star Trek film but let’s hope the next trailer performs better…Otherwise it could be in trouble.

#11 – Captain America: Civil War

What? Captain America 3 is NOT in your top 10? I know, I know. There are a LOT of films in 2016 I’m looking forward to, particularly of the comic book genre, but someone had to be cut down into the top 20. Sorry Cap. It’s mainly because the other superhero films its going against feature new characters. We’ve seen multiple movies featuring Cap and Iron Man already so I’m not dying to see this film. I will see it, obviously, but again…

TOP TEN

#10

After his career is destroyed, a brilliant but arrogant surgeon gets a new lease on life when a sorcerer takes him under his wing and trains him to defend the world against evil.

That’s right, Marvel’s very own Doctor Strange. Anything dealing with the mystical/magical side of a universe has my attention. Which is why my top 10 isn’t really a top 10…

DocStrange1

One year after outwitting the FBI and winning the public’s adulation with their Robin Hood-style magic spectacles, The Four Horsemen resurface for a comeback performance in hopes of exposing the unethical practices of a tech magnate. The man behind their vanishing act is none other than Walter Mabry, a tech prodigy who threatens the Horsemen into pulling off their most impossible heist yet. Their only hope is to perform one last unprecedented stunt to clear their names and reveal the mastermind behind it all.

See. Magic. I couldn’t decide which one for #10, so I’m making it a tie between Strange and NYSM2. I actually really liked the first film, again I’m a sucker for magic-type films. And I’m super excited that Harry Potter himself, Daniel Radcliffe, has joined the film.

#9 

Alice returns to the whimsical world of Wonderland and travels back in time to save the Mad Hatter.

If you couldn’t tell by my name, I’m a pretty big Alice in Wonderland fan. So of course its sequel is going to land in my top 10.

#8

A former Special Forces operative turned mercenary is subjected to a rogue experiment that leaves him with accelerated healing powers and adopts the alter ego Deadpool.

It’s fucking Deadpool. Of course he’s in my top 10. I’m glad Fox decided to finally take a chance and bring the merc with a mouth to life. It’ll certainly be different from what we have been seeing in the comic book genre. I’m certainly worried of how it’ll do storywise and hope it does well. Fans of Deadpool and comic book genres/films may flock to this film but what about outside that group? Compared to the other comic book films being released, I don’t think it’ll do as well as some may think. (It’ll make money yes, but won’t be huge IMO)

#7 

Derek and Hansel are modelling again when an opposing company attempts to take them out from the business.

The first film was absolutely ridiculous. It was great. It looks like the sequel will be fun as well. I’m sure some of you are questioning how this is in my top 10 when other films could be here but it’s honestly my personal preference. Again, I’d love to see your top 20 of 2016!

#6 

With the emergence of the world’s first mutant, Apocalypse, the X-Men must unite to defeat his extinction level plan.

X-Men was the only Marvel property I really knew of growing up. I really love the franchise and its characters (not just the films) and am excited to see how Apocalypse does. Days of Future Past was amazing, I think it was the top comic book film of that year. So topping it will be tough for Apocalypse but with the introduction of the main trio, Cyclops, Storm, and Jean Grey, and many other mutants, hopefully it follows its path. I know many are concerned over Apocalypse but hopefully the final product in the film when its released is as amazing as fans hope it’ll be.

#5

The friendly-but-forgetful blue tang fish reunites with her loved ones, and everyone learns a few things about the true meaning of family along the way. 

I didn’t think a Finding Nemo sequel was necessary but I’m ready for it! It’s another family-film on my list and hopefully it lives up to the first film.

#4 

The adventures of writer Newt Scamander in New York’s secret community of witches and wizards seventy years before Harry Potter reads his book in school.

We’re back to the Wizarding World! I grew up reading and watching Harry Potter and I’m super excited to see the prequel story of Scamander come to life! The first look, or “announcement trailer,” (new name for a teaser?), is interesting and a refreshing look into the wizarding world. Hopefully the next trailer will show some actual fantastic beasts!

#3

A young woman uses her navigational talents to set sail for a fabled island. Joining her on the adventure is her hero, the legendary demi-god Maui.

We really don’t know much of this film other than Auli’i Cravalho will voice the titular character, Moana, with Dwayne Johnson as the demi-god Maui. It looks to be a fun journey and Disney typically performs well in the animated films department. And it certainly follows a different type of story than we’re used to from other Disney animated films.

Moana

#2

A secret government agency recruits imprisoned supervillains to execute dangerous black ops missions in exchange for clemency.

That’s right. Suicide Squad. As soon as they announced this film I knew it was going to be great and a (surprise) hit. The anticipation of seeing certain characters in live-action (never before debuted except for a couple) was certainly high and when SDCC debuted a first-look, fans scrambled for some leaked footage. It was shared/viewed over 7 million times before DC/director Ayer decided to officially release the footage. You can tell by these fans’ actions and by the 60 million view count that it’ll be a hit. Joker and Harley together finally? A movie following villains being used by a government agency to do their dirty work? Definitely different from other comicbook films we’ve been seeing.

skwad8_2

And at #1

Fearing the actions of a god-like Super Hero left unchecked, Gotham City’s own formidable, forceful vigilante takes on Metropolis’ most revered, modern-day savior, while the world wrestles with what sort of hero it really needs. And with Batman and Superman at war with one another, a new threat quickly arises, putting mankind in greater danger than it’s ever known before.

That’s right…

This movie is making history with the first live-action film ever to debut Superman and Batman on the same screen. Not only that, Wonder Woman is making her live-action film debut as well as expected cameos from Aquaman and The Flash. There is a reason for all the buzz of the film. There is no denying it’ll be huge. It has a lot of weight on its shoulders because of the hype and pressure and hopefully it does not fall through. It seems we’ll get a better story and plot than MoS with Snyder bringing in Chris Terrio to fix the script. Already, just from the trailers, we’re getting some memorable lines. “Black and Blue…”

BVSMagazine3_3

I definitely think BvS will beat MoS’s box office but I also think BvS could break some records for March. Now will it be as big as Star Wars: The Force Awakens? No. I’m not sure when we’ll see a superhero film do as well (and quickly) as Star Wars had. We’ll see though if BvS will be a critical success along with the box office success, which I’m sure it’ll have.

So that’s the end of my Top 20 countdown! I would love to hear your top 20 movies you’re looking forward to in 2016!


Coming soon – My top comic book characters in film I’m looking forward to in 2016! (Along with a discussion on who will win the year critically, box office-wise, best characters, and possible flops)

 

Leave a Reply

