Quick Review: The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 2

I still think that Mockingjay could have been one movie. But $$ right?

I think the final film concluded nicely and performed much better than the part one. I wasn’t a big fan of the final novel and I think I like the movies better. But I think the film suffers with weird pacing, which may be due to splitting the final novel into two films. The fight scenes and pods all over the capitol was like I pictured and I think they performed it well. My one complaint is Finnick’s death – he died much more heroically in the novel in my opinion. I couldn’t tell if he was yelling Katniss’ name for her to save him or to do what she did, which was blow them up. The ending of the film was really slow as is the beginning. The deaths of the Capitol children and Primrose was as heart-wrenching to watch as it is to read. So when Katniss ends up killing Coin rather than Snow, and the entire build up of who Coin really is, is quite “satisfying.” The previous film failed to bring up how terrible Coin is, and I’m glad the final film made sure of it. Snow’s death, disappointing for some and for others satisfying, was altered in the film. Rather than dying by his own sickness, we see him laugh when Katniss kills Coin then get rampaged by everyone (who ends up killing him).

The bottom line? A good film to wrap up the series. An unnecessary split, but overall a satisfying end to the fight against the tyranny of the Capitol.

Current Ratings:

IMDb: 7.3/10 (users)

Rotten Tomatoes: 70% (critics) 79% (users)

Critics Consensus: With the unflinchingly grim Mockingjay Part 2, The Hunger Games comes to an exciting, poignant, and overall satisfying conclusion.

Metacritic: 65%

Me: 6.5/10

Leave a Reply

