Quick Review: Jurassic World

The nostalgia was real in this film. I finally was able to see the film after a month of it being in theaters and wasn’t disappointed. Although it doesn’t quite capture the same ‘magic’ as the original films, it’s still a great film. I also didn’t think I could get upset over dinosaurs dying. I’m also really curious to how Claire (Bryce Dallas Howard) managed to sprint in heels. I’m a woman and I’m pretty sure I can’t run the speed she did in those. Anyways, to continue with Claire, I found the actor’s acting wasn’t as bad as people were saying. It’s not an Academy Award-winning performance but I think she pulled off the role. As for Chris Pratt as Owen, he didn’t do too bad. His more serious moments were a bit hard to watch, maybe because I think he’s better in comedic roles similar to the one in GOTG, but it wasn’t terrible. But his relationship with his raptors is what made me get upset over their *spoilers* deaths. Darn you. I guess I should note the CGI in the film – it was pretty good but a few moments were…blurry (not sure how to describe it…I’ll think of it eventually). I do have to say that the jump scares or scenes that make your heart beat fast worked well. Not a lot movies I’ve seen lately have actually accomplished that. It’s what I liked of the original movies (among other things). That darn Indominus Rex. Anyways, last thing, the fight between the 3/4 ‘dinosaurs’ at the end was amazing to watch. I knew that T-Rex would come in handy. Haha. I really did like this film, no it isn’t in my top favorites (I’m pretty tough on what’s my favorite), but it’s a good film nonetheless.

Current ratings:

IMDb: 7.3/10 (users)

Rotten Tomatoes: 71% (critics) 82% (users)

Critics Consensus: Jurassic World can’t match the original for sheer inventiveness and impact, but it works in its own right as an entertaining — and visually dazzling — popcorn thriller.

Metacritic: 59%

Mine: 4/5 stars

Leave a Reply

