Quick Review: Inside Out

I don’t know what to say about this film other than I love it. I think it is one of Pixar’s best films. I saw previews for this film and thought it looked cute but wasn’t too keen on seeing it in theaters. I ended up seeing it with my brother as his birthday present from me and ended up absolutely loving it. (He loves it too, by the way) It made us laugh a lot! But I definitely teared up more than once. I don’t think I have ever felt that much emotion with a Pixar film before. It certainly was a roller coaster film in terms of my emotional state. Bing-Bong was a surprise character and I really didn’t know what to make of him. But Pixar worked their magic and I couldn’t help but tear up when he sacrificed himself. This film manages to do what was presented as the plot line – the 5 feelings of Joy, Anger, Disgust, Fear, and Sadness. The majority of it was joy, then sadness. Fear definitely was played up with the darn clown (I really hate clowns), although I don’t remember a disgust feeling-scene. I did feel a bit of anger at Sadness’ constant mishaps but that changed towards the end of the film. I also have to note that that darn TripleDent Gum commercial has been stuck in my head forever and it makes laugh but also annoyed. Haha. But overall, this film was amazing. Plot line, characterization, voice-acting, animation, etc. Amazing.

Current ratings:

IMDb: 8.7/10 (users)

Rotten Tomatoes: 98% (critics)

Critics Consensus: Inventive, gorgeously animated, and powerfully moving, Inside Out is another outstanding addition to the Pixar library of modern animated classics.

Metacritic: 93%

Mine: 4.5/5 stars

Leave a Reply

