Looking Forward: Top 20 Movies of 2015

Spiffy title ey? Honestly, I may change it if I think of a better one. Anyways, this list is a list of movies I’m most looking forward to in the new year (aka 2015)! The list wasn’t too hard to make, the order of what ones I want to see most was, however. Also, this is NOT perfect because 1) There are many movies coming out in 2015 2) I was too lazy to investigate every single one 3) I may update. Maybe. To make things easier and so you didn’t have to scroll forever, the bottom 10 will be put in a collage and then the top 10 will be single along with…well, you’ll see! Anyways, here’s my Top 20!

Honorable mentions: Paddington, Ex Machina, The Last Witch Hunter, Strange Magic, B.O.O. Bureau of Otherworldly Operations, Taken 3.

20-11.

(LtoR) - Star Wars: The Force Awakens, Fantastic Four, Ant-Man, Pixels, Pan, Frankenstein, Focus, Cinderella, The Man From UNCLE, Mission Impossible 5.

(LtoR) – Star Wars: The Force Awakens, Fantastic Four, Ant-Man, Pixels, Pan, Frankenstein, Focus, Cinderella, The Man From UNCLE, Mission Impossible 5.

Wa-bang! That’s my bottom 10 of my Top 20. I know  I know. Some of these are probably like “that is DEFINITELY top 5 worthy!” But what everyone needs to understand is this is all my opinion – this is all in order of what I think will be good/fun. Sorry Star Wars fans, I’m actually not big into Star Wars but I still plan to see the new one! I was surprised I had ANY superhero movies in the bottom, as I figured they would be in the top 10, but so far the appeal for Ant-Man and Fantastic Four isn’t that high for me. As for Pan and Cinderella, I’m interested to see these live-action takes on the fairy tales. I’m a huge Disney fan, so of course any Disney movie will be in my Top 20. As for Focus, The Man From UNCLE, and Mission Impossible 5, I’ve always found these genres of movies to be fun to watch. Anyways…now to the Top 10!

 

10. Mad Max: Fury Road

mad_max_fury_road_character_poster_1I was surprised this movie made my Top 10. Seriously. All I knew about this movie was that Tom Hardy and (shaved-head) Charlize Theron was in it. I decided to investigate this more and found it actually looked entertaining. Check out the trailer:

In theaters May 15, 2015.

9. The Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials

latestI finally saw the first movie not too long ago and I was pleasantly surprised by it. Typically any books I’ve read that is turned into a movie does not always end up meeting my expectations but this one certainly does. Having read all of the books, I can’t wait to see their take on the second book where things really pick up (and get majorly confusing). In this sequel you’ll find out a lot more of these trials that Thomas and the rest of the Gladers are in and what in the world happened to Earth.

Trailer N/A. Currently filming.

In theaters September 18, 2015.

8. Kingsman: The Secret Service

file_118522_1_kingsmanposterlargeI saw the trailer for this in theaters but completely forgot what the name was. Later, when making this list, I investigated some movie called Kingsman, thinking it was probably no good, and found out it was the movie that I saw a trailer for but couldn’t remember the name! I’m actually pretty hyped for this movie. Check out the trailer:

In theaters February 13, 2015. (They must have changed it…the poster says Fall…)

7. The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 2

023148ed10d5d7f51cdc3675d0ec5eb8Of course the finale to The Hunger Games franchise will be in my Top 10. Although I STILL don’t think this book needed to be split into 2 movies, I’m excited/anxious to see how the last movie will be. I honestly didn’t like Part 1 as much as I would like to, I feel that separating movies into parts is a really hard task that Mockingjay didn’t quite grasp. But I’m still excited to see the end, and see if I prefer it over the book.

Trailer N/A. Currently in Post-Production.

In theaters November 20, 2015.

6. Tomorrowland

tomorrowland_xlgI had NO idea this movie was happening until Disney shared the first trailer for this movie. I was confused (I feel as if I’m always confused) that there was a movie on an area of Disneyland. Watching the trailer I realized what it really was, and I’m actually pretty hyped for it. Check out the trailer:

In theaters May 22, 2015.

 

READY FOR THE TOP FIVE?!

 

5. Pitch Perfect 2

10537458_795331073866831_2945044548614727832_oPitch Perfect is one of my favorite comedies ever. I didn’t get to see it in theaters but did get the DVD and I’m so glad I did. It looks like the sequel will be just as good as the first with newcomer Hailee Steinfeld joining the Barden Bellas. The rest of the main cast will return along with YouTube star Flula, Sing-Off winners/A capella sensation Pentatonix, and Sing-Off contestants The Filharmonics. Check out the trailer!

In theaters May 15, 2015.

4. Furious 7

1264168_10152711798412631_6932298560306919271_oI’ll admit, I got into the Fast and Furious franchise late. It wasn’t until Fast Five came out that I got into them. They’re more of a guilty pleasure franchise for me – action and fun. But I can’t wait to see it, especially it being Paul Walker’s last film (may he rest in peace). Check out the trailer:

In theaters April 3, 2015. #RideOrDie

3. Inside Out

20141218032017!The-inside-out-posterI think Disney/Pixar may have a hit with this movie. I watched the second trailer for the first when making this post and I really enjoyed it. I think this could be a really creative and fun film. Hopefully it turns out as good as it seems! Check out the trailer:

In theaters June 19, 2015.

2. Minions

minions_xlgI absolutely love the minions from Despicable Me. So of course I’ll watch a spin-off to one of my favorite animated films based on my favorite characters! It looks hilarious and fun! Who doesn’t love minions? (If you are one of those people…shame…shame on you is all I have to say) Check out the trailer:

In theaters July 10, 2015.

 

AND NOW FOR NUMBER ONE….

DRUMROLL PLEASE…

 

 

 

1. Avengers: Age of Ultron…

53d4083b1ffc3Anyone surprised? As of right now, Avengers AOU is the most highly anticipated movie that serves as the sequel to the first superhero team-up movie ever (Or second, if you’d like to include The Incredibles). The movie also features additional superbeings, siblings Quicksilver (Aaron Johnson) and Scarlet Witch (Elizabeth Olsen) and JARVIS’ Paul Bettany playing Vision, and new villain “No Strings On Me” Ultron (James Spader).

Official synopsis:

Marvel Studios presents “Avengers: Age of Ultron,” the epic follow-up to the biggest Super Hero movie of all time. When Tony Stark tries to jumpstart a dormant peacekeeping program, things go awry and Earth’s Mightiest Heroes, including Iron Man, Captain America, Thor, The Incredible Hulk, Black Widow and Hawkeye, are put to the ultimate test as the fate of the planet hangs in the balance. As the villainous Ultron emerges, it is up to the Avengers to stop him from enacting his terrible plans, and soon uneasy alliances and unexpected action pave the way for an epic and unique global adventure.

Marvel’s “Avengers: Age of Ultron” stars Robert Downey Jr., who returns as Iron Man, along with Chris Evans as Captain America, Chris Hemsworth as Thor and Mark Ruffalo as The Hulk.  Together with Scarlett Johansson as Black Widow and Jeremy Renner as Hawkeye, and with the additional support of Samuel L. Jackson as Nick Fury and Cobie Smulders as Agent Maria Hill, the team must reassemble to defeat James Spader as Ultron, a terrifying technological villain hell-bent on human extinction. Along the way, they confront two mysterious and powerful newcomers, Wanda Maximoff, played by Elizabeth Olsen, and Pietro Maximoff, played by Aaron Taylor-Johnson, and meet an old friend in a new form when Paul Bettany becomes Vision. Written and directed by Joss Whedon and produced by Kevin Feige, Marvel’s “Avengers: Age of Ultron” is based on the ever-popular Marvel comic book series “The Avengers,” first published in 1963. Get set for an action-packed thrill ride when The Avengers return in Marvel’s “Avengers: Age of Ultron” on May 1, 2015.

Check out the trailer:

 

…and Jurassic World

Jurassic-World-Poster-OfficialHaha, yes. You thought I forgot this movie! I ended up finding I couldn’t figure out which I was more excited for! My childhood was the Jurassic Park movies…I’m so excited to see this new one. Here’s the synopsis:

Twenty-two years after the events of Jurassic Park (1993), Isla Nublar now features a fully functioning dinosaur theme park, Jurassic World, as originally envisioned by John Hammond. After 10 years of operation and visitor rates declining, in order to fulfill a corporate mandate, a new attraction is created to re-spark visitor’s interest, which backfires horribly.

Check out the trailer!

In theaters June 12, 2015!

So there you have it. My Top 20! I’ll leave a poll for you to vote on your #1 must-see movie for 2015 along with an other bar to vote for a movie I did not list. Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

